About Intajour

The International Academy of Journalism (Intajour) is a training institute for journalists from countries with limited press freedom and freedom of expression. The academy is based in Hamburg, Germany. Intajour is a limited liability company owned by Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA.


Mission Statement

The International Academy of Journalism develops and organizes professional training for journalists from around the world. Course participants are given the opportunity to improve the tools of their trade and prepare for the digital future. Intajour – the International Academy of Journalism – is a limited liability company owned by Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA. Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA finances Intajour’s work.

Intajour regards the digitization of the media as an opportunity for press freedom and freedom of expression worldwide. The so called New Media make it possible to directly connect to journalists all over the world and support them in their work.


Intajour was created to mark the 175th anniversary of Bertelsmann in 2010. The patron of the academy’s founding act was European Commission President José Manuel Barroso, who declared in his opening speech: “High-quality journalism is a cornerstone of democracy.”

Intajour’s Fellowship Program consists of a ten-month-long course called ‘Journalism in the Digital World’ which is comprised of attendance phases as well as e-learning phases. It aims to prepare journalists from countries with limited press freedom for the digital future – and thereby contribute to safeguarding the future of press freedom and freedom of expression.  So far, three Fellowship Years (2011/12, 2012/13 and – just about to graduate – 2013/14) have benefited from the training. For the time being, the fellowship program is on hold.

Journalistic Advisory Council and Board of Trustees

Intajour Director Werner Eggert is supported in his work by two bodies, the Journalistic Advisory Council and the Board of Trustees.

The Journalistic Advisory Council advises Intajour’s Director on the development of the curricula and the selection of the Intajour fellows. The Journalistic Advisory Council is composed of journalists with longstanding experience in the profession. It currently consists of the following members: Peter Kloeppel (RTL Television), Georg Mascolo (journalist), Thomas Osterkorn (STERN), Leonhard Ottinger (RTL School of Journalism for TV and Multimedia), Karin Schlautmann (Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA) and Andreas Wolfers (Henri-Nannen School of Journalism).

The members of the Board of Trustees represent Bertelsmann’s divisions. Its task is to advise Intajour on its budget and the academy’s basic philosophy. The Board of Trustees currently has the following members: Klaus Eck (Random House), Oliver Fahlbusch (RTL Group), Hans Mahr (RTL Group), Stefan Postler (Arvato), Stephan Schäfer (Gruner + Jahr) and Karin Schlautmann (Bertelsmann SE & Co. KGaA).

Read more on Intajour’s main page: http://www.intajour.com.